Week 17 catchup: Classroom Management

I have decided to use Audioboo to provide some feedback on this unit.  I haven’t used Audioboo before and thought I would give it a go as until you try something, you don’t know how it could be used in the future.  Another reason I decided to use this was to try to avoid having to convert an Audacity file.  The sign up was nice and easy because I used my Twitter account.  This saved having to set up yet another username (even though I do try to use the same one each time to reduce the different combinations I have).  Before getting started, I thought I would view the getting started video – it didn’t work.  Then I thought I would have a look at the Help screens – but they didn’t help neither!  So I just decided to give it a go.  The 3 minute limit certainly goes quickly and I had to restart my recording.  While I am writing this, my audioboo is being uploaded so at this stage I don’t actually know what is going to happen next.  I am assuming that I will get a url for it which I can paste into this post – I see that I can’t just upload the audio file directly into my post unless I upgrade.

This is the link for my audioboo http://audioboo.fm/boos/756273-mccpot-course-week-17-reflections but when I click on it, while it goes to the file, I can’t actually play it!!!  It shows the play button but nothing happens when I click on it?!?!?!?!

I have added the link to my google site with the following code: http://audioboo.fm/boos/756273-mccpot-course-week-17-reflections which is the same as above but this link won’t work.  To access my audioboo go to my google site and click the link there.  But now there is a new problem – if I follow the link from here it doesn’t work.

The only difference is that I have my google site displayed using Firefox whereas I am using this blog with IE.  Is that causing the problem?  It shouldn’t but I’m going to find out.

Reloaded my blog using Firefox and followed the links above and they all work okay.  So the conclusion I am going to draw is that Audioboo doesn’t work with IE9 but does work with Firefox.  Now that could cause problems for students!!

Has anyone else had this problem?  I’ve checked for compatibility mode for IE9 but it isn’t an option.  I’ve googled the problem (as you do) and found a few others seem to have this problem too but there doesn’t seem to be a solution to the problem.  I have created my own discussion issue for this at http://forum.audioboo.fm/discussions/problems/12605-cant-playback-audioboo-in-ie9?unresolve=true if you want to keep track of it.

One tool I have started using is Hot Potatoes which allows different type of quizzes to be produced.  An example can be found on our INF550 course page which I constructed by copying the questions and answers from the test bank provided as part of the instructor resources for the textbook we are using.  Moodle has an option to upload Hot Potato Quizzes so it all worked rather nicely – and the students are impressed!

One Response

Leave a Reply

